Showing posts with label Ubuntu tutorials. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Ubuntu tutorials. Show all posts

Send Mail Using SSMTP on Ubuntu

Send Mail Using SSMTP. Just another log of one of my activities :D

Currently, I set up my desktop computer to be able to send email. Not from browser, but from the system. 

So, I am using ssmtp with a guide from a quite-old-post from Tom Dryer in tombuntu.com. I've set up my laptop before with it, and works. And after a while, I need to set up my desktop, and I forgot, and I got back to Tom's post :D

How To

Well, we need to install SSMTP first
sudo apt-get install ssmtp

then, we need to change the configuration, located in /etc/ssmtp/ssmtp.conf. My configuration is like this :

Right Click Panel on Gnome Classic session Ubuntu 12.04

Ubuntu 12.04, with code name 'Precise Pangolin' has been released a while ago. But since I am not a fan of Unity and hate must be install the-codec-thing, so, I'm waiting the release of Linux Mint 'Maya' with Cinnamon Desktop Environment. But after I tried it, it didn't comfort me. In short, I uninstalled the Cinnamon, leaving the Linux Mint 'Maya' with Gnome Classic. Yeah,, It most comfortable with me.

After trying for a while, I just stucked on how can I move the panel bar? The Maya's default was placing it at the bottom of the monitor. I just wanna move it, just like my prev Linux Mint 11 (and I intend to give it a global menu applet).

OK. Here is the way  to solve it! I got this from my own experience and a lil bit help from Stackoverflow, which I forgot the link.
  1. Move the bar - Press alt + click + drag
  2. Show right click menu. Press win/ super button + alt + right click panel
So, that's it! Or if you are using Maya with Mate version, it wouldn't be that strange.

[Ubuntu] Reading LIT File

Today, I've been confused by a lil file with *.lit extension. After did a google for a second, finally I know if *.lit file is proprietary extension, like usual, work under win-thing. The file I've talking about is an ebook file, in *.lit format. Damn. So irritating.

I've watched and found some command-line way, but I just dont like the way they 'hack' it. I'm GUI man :D At least, for something easy (I just wanna read the ebook!) like this, should I use command line? Using script? Nope thank you. I believe there must be always another way. Like what I wrote here :P

So, here is another way. The logic is, in Windows environment, there should be a reader. So, I just search it and I got it already, Microsoft Reader.

Tadaaa : Prime Time

Umm.. better if I serve the steps this way :

  1. I assumed you've already installed wine. It's a must. Download the Ms-Reader installer file here
  2. Once you've downloaded it, installed it thru' wine.
    Note : usually you must do 'chmod +x' first to the file to make it executable before you can run it
  3. If it's installed already, we cann't use it yet. Just a lil bit longer. We need to hack it first. Blame Microsoft for the damn-activate-thing.. >.<
  4. We need no get a file called msvcirt.dll in order to make the reader work. Get it here http://www.dll-files.com/dllindex/dll-files.shtml?msvcirt or if you wanna get your own way, google it.
  5. Next, just extract the file you've download and dump it into /home/your_username/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/Microsoft Reader/
    *change your_username with your computer username of course.
  6. And done! Here we go.. :P

[SOLVED] Hibernate on Ubuntu with ASUS A43E

This afternoon (4.07 PM, GMT +7), I am playing with my ASUS Laptop. This time, I still wonder why this laptop can not hibernate properly. My prob was after clicking hibernate button, it is hibernating like usual, but when the resume time, it just gimme blank screen. And it means, sadly, I've got to hit the power button. So far, I used to just suspend the machine. But I'm not satisfy with just suspend! I need more. Let's say, I've a hibernate button and it's useless. So, what the purpose of it? An accessory? Grrrr.. Don't say this is an April fool, since on my ACER netbook the hibernate works great.

What I dislike of suspend is, it's consuming battery so much.. It's like not different than when it's not suspended. Grrr..

I've been googled in my free time. Do some hacks, based on their solution, till I was bored because still not worked. But then, this day God gimme a way. For you guys, the key is keep searching/ asking.. :)

The Solution

Exactly, I can't post the proper solution here because of the hardware/ others reason. But, here you are, my savior link. Might be it could be useful for you who facing the same issue as me. Just, I dont guarantee  it will work on you. Like I said, depends on your machine spec or other reasons. Just dont give up and keep trying! :)

Note : My OS is exactly Linux Mint 11 'Katya'. But, I called 'Ubuntu' since Mint is its derivative..

Memblock Facebook

Siapa yang gak kenal Facebook? Bahkan anak-anak SD pun sekarang sudah punya akun Facebook. Teman saya bahkan sudah membuatkan akun Facebook untuk anaknya yang baru beberapa bulan lahir. Keren..

Enough with the chit-chat. Di saat orang - orang pada keranjingan Facebook, saya pengen membagi cara membloknya melalui cara termudah. Yah, dengan konsekuensi, tidak dirubah balik konfigurasinya karena ini merupakan cara termudah tadi :D

Kenapa musti di blok?
Saya mungkin tergolong orang dengan low-self-control. Tipe orang yang kalau pas seneng, keranjingan sampe bosan. Atau kalau benci, ya benci banget. Kind of that person. Begitu pun dengan masalah Facebook ini. Gara gara ada bahasan OOT di group Facebook yang saya ikuti, saya jadi sering bolak balik cek akun Facebook guna sekedar liat-perkembangan-terbaru. Efek sampingnya, otomatis saya kadang menggadaikan waktu kerja/ istirahat dan sebagainya.. It's all because of Facebook! Untungnya, saya juga tipe orang yang bisa self-motivated. That's why I need to block it!

Caranya?
Note : Saya make Linux, distro Linux Mint. Tapi pada dasarnya, semua Linux sama sih *makanya saya lebih merujuk ke 'linux'-nya daripada ke 'mint' (merek)-nya.

Enable/ Disable Touchpad Ubuntu [GUI Mode]

Like I said in my prev post (Make Touchpad on ASUS Laptop Recognized - http://mynameisthom.blogspot.com/2012/01/make-touchpad-on-asus-laptop-recognized.html), I'd like to share how to enable/ disable touchpad (ASUS laptop) in GUI mode. Exactly, I just following the steps on Using Touchpad-Indicator - https://help.ubuntu.com/community/SynapticsTouchpad#Using_Touchpad-Indicator. I tried it, but it seems not working at all. From the title might be my failure has appear (it's for synaptics dude!). My bad..

Make Touchpad on ASUS Laptop Recognized

I am almost desperated when talking about touchpad-issue on my ASUS A43E laptop. ASUS, is not using Synaptics anymore (in my laptop and mostly ASUS laptop I heard), replaced by Elantech. And, the common Ubuntu still using synaptics by default. The only problem is, the touchpad become unrecognized, and dumbly recognized as PS/2 Logitech mouse :3

After a few day surfing in-out Ubuntu Forums, blogs and websites, finally today (just now) I found a solution on how to enable touchpad (include multi-tap, two finger scrolling, click on tap etc).

Sync Tomboy Notes Ubuntu

I have 1 PCs, 1 netbooks and 1 laptops, I'm working in with. They're all using Linux Mint 11 "Katya". What I'm trying to tell is how can I sync my Tomboy notes each other? Yep. By using internet cloud computing, sounds great enough. Solving my probs. Tapi make aplikasi apa???

Saya udah pernah make Springpad, Scribble dan Quick Note. Itu semua merupakan ekstensi dari Google Chrome, dan bisa offline maupun online (tersinkronisasi). Tapi dalam hati saya, masih tetap ada yang kurang. Dan saya nyaman memakai tomboy notes.

Here's the story : I've ever read (but not tried yet) if tomboy could be synchronized. That time, the tuts was mentioning the sync url is http://live.gnome.org/Tomboy. Yeah, I opened it and because it's soo ugly, I didn't tried it.

A lil while ago, I've tried online sync of Tomboy Notes on better way. Using Ubuntu One. I got that info from https://one.ubuntu.com/help/tutorial/install-and-setup-notes-sync/, #areare1 If only I knew it from the first time :3

Enable/ Disable Touchpad on Ubuntu 11.04

Exactly, I am using Linux Mint 11 'Katya'. But, just never mind it, since it based on Ubuntu 11.04. Just unity-less and layouts customization *that's why I'm using it*.

I got a new laptop, like I said yesterday. It's ASUS A43E. After spending almost one-day-full on installing some softwares and a little customization, one thing disturbing me. I could not disable it. Usually, it can be done by pressing 'Fn' combination key. But not. Even if I pressed it many times, it wouldn't go disable.

Until, I surfed the other day (exactly, its today), and found some discussion on Ubuntu Forums (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1592273). There are some tricks there. The first thing I trid is  installing the GUI-way, using touchpad-indicator software from ppa, which still gimme no difference. It wasn't work for my ASUS A43E. I found this link (http://www.ubuntubuzz.com/2011/05/how-to-disable-enabletouchpad-in-ubuntu.html -- natty installation steps' version) if you want to try. Maybe you'll get some lucks, since the comments said mostly works just fine. My bad, it was not working on me.

So, I back to the Ubuntu Forums page I found, and try the below steps. At least, these some lines works fine..

The Secret of WGET : Keampuhan WGET

Siapa yang belum kenal sama wget, cung!
Apa itu wget? Buat apa? Emang penting? Kenapa wget?
Sabar.. Semua itu akan saya bahas di sini.

[Asal mula]
Friday. January 13th, 2012
Nothing wrong in that date. Menurut takhayul Barat, angka 13 merupakan angka sial. Apalagi harinya Friday. Takhayul Barat meyakini angka 13 adalah angka sial dan Jum'at adalah hari jelek. Lagi-lagi takhayul, jika dua hal tersebut bertemu jadi satu, berarti #uwow. Tapi nyatanya ndak tuh..

maaf mas, nyela.. Ini hubungannya sama wget apa ya?
#Grrr... Diam dulu to. Ini baru pemanasan alias warming-up. Ntar akhirnya juga nyampe ke intinya. Sampai mana tadi? Umm.. *mikir*

Jadi, di Friday 13th ini saya malah mendapatkan keberuntungan. Salah satu diantaranya adalah saya dapet laptop baru dari pak bos Albert Pratama #yay. Singkat cerita, tuh laptop saya install-i Linux Mint 11 "Katya". Bedanya dari versi yang di laptop saya yang satunya ataupun yang di PC yang di kosan, terletak pada architecture-nya. Yang ini 64-bit bo'.. Jadinya, gak cocok deh dengan koleksi software yang saya punya.

RabbitVCS : A TortoiseSVN Like On Linux

Sebenarnya saya sudah pernah melakukan instalasi RabbitVCS ini di lappie saya. Cuman, seperti instalasi software yang belum masuk repo; saya ndak begitu hapal dengan alamat reponya. Prinsipnya, selama masih bisa akses Google, everything is OK :D Tapi, kemudian kok rasa-rasanya gimanaaa gitu kalo harus terlalu bergantung pada mbah yang satu itu. Kan, udah pernah install, kok ya mau install lagi aja musti pusing cari link. Kalo saya posting di sini kan mending kan yak. Pertama, saya punya catatan --mempersempit ruang gerak. Kedua, kali aja ada yang butuh juga, terus nyasar di sini. Siapa tau membantu..

Sik.. sik.. RabbitVCS ki opo mas?
Jadi gini, kalau misalnya udah familiar dengan subversioning, RabbitVCS maupun TortoisseSVN adalah sejenis. Subversioning itu sendiri,, gimana menjelaskannya ya? :D Itu sopwer yang digunakan dalam coding secara terpusat, sehingga source-nya uptodate. Biasa dipakai dalam coding 'secara massa'. Kira-kira begitulah, kurang lebih :D

Terus bedanya RabbitVCS sama TortoiseSVN apa?
Jadi, kalau RabbitVCS merupakan subversion-client yang jalan di Linux, semacam Ubuntu. Si Rabit ini mendukung Subversion dan juga Git. Subversion dan Git itu fungsinya sama, cuman metode yang dipakai dalam management berbeda. Sedangkan TortoiseSVN populer sebagai software subversion-client yang jalan di system Windows. Kebanyakan orang Windows-based yang baru migrasi, tahu TortoiseSVN terlebih dahulu. Tapi itu ndak masalah sih. Cuman sayangnya, si Tortoise ini *sepanjang yang saya tahu* hanya bisa untuk subversioning saja. Mungkin untuk git-nya belum. Atau mungkin memang tidak mengembangkan, karena di luar sana sudah bertebaran git-client. Beda dengan yang si RabbitVCS yang mendukung subversion maupun git. 

PON vs WVDIAL?? Saya prefer to 'PON'

Saya baru mengenal PON kemaren, setelah seharian surfing. Gara-gara bosan dengan koneksi smartfren saya yang putus nyambung putus-nyambung. Ditambah lagi, saya iri dengan platform tetangga (win users) yang sekalinya koneksi putus, tinggal klak-klik. Terus, kenapa di Ubuntu gak bisa coba? *iri beneran saya*

Kayak diskriminasi produk. Padahal kalo dipikir pikir, memang iya. Sederhana saja. Lihat saja di cover/ kardus modemnya. Cuman tersedia 'Mac' sama 'Win' saja. Meski pada akhirnya dengan Ubuntu segalanya jadi mungkin, tapi tetep saja ada sedikit ketidaknyamanan (sesekali sih,,) yang saya rasakan.

It's a wow : A Nice Twitter Client for Ubuntu

Hey, it's me again. Now, I'm talking about Ubuntu. Ubuntu : never ending topic :D Forget it,, now, let's go back to topic. Talking about Twitter, Ubuntu have default twitter client named Gwibber. But,,, I honestly dislike it. It's slow (you may read it as not interactive) and ugly. The uglyness is the point. It has a baaaad baaaad and baaaaaaaaaad looking for an app. I have checked the official webpage (hxxp://www.gwibber.com) and the current screenshots are still the same. Ugly.

Now.. Please welcome to Hotot! It's a wow (great enough) for a GNOME app. It's nice. I like it.

Android : Install An Apk File On The Android SDK Emulator

Android
Hmm... I forgot to share this. Another experienced when I with Android :D So, with an Android gadget, we could freely install apps from market. But.. unfortunately, unlike the 'real gadget', we couldn't use the Android Market to install apps.

There is another way to do so.

Android : Solving Problem on running Android SDK Ubuntu

Android
So, I am wondering to 'taste' Android, since I doesn't have one. After downloading the SDK, do steps like it said in readme, but still stucked on 'nothing happen'. So, I enter to the terminal, and run it. But I got these message :

Manga Downloader for Linux : Installing DomDomSoft on Ubuntu

Manga Downloader for Linux? I've been trying DomDomSoft Manga Downloader (Win version) before, and I fall in love with it. It such a great Manga downloader. In Linux, I dont find any great tool. Some if using script and the others software is out-of-date. Creepy >.<

Might be using wine/ crossover the software would run. But, unfortunately, 'it didnt'. For normal installation/ use, you would not make it. There are some 'addition steps' to do to get DomDomSoft running well on Ubuntu. Keep reading. I'll show you how to.


Disk Mounter : Display only USB drive

How to display USB drive only at Disk Mounter on Ubuntu or its derivatives? I have the solution :D It is ugly enough having all of your mounted disk/ drives at Disk Mounter. It seems so crowded, I think.

In my case, I have 4 mounted NTFS drive on my Ubuntu. The problem is, when I am using Disk Mounter applet and have a/ some USB stick plugged, they all (4 mounted drives/ partitions and the USB sticks) displayed at Disk Mounter. It just not suit with my mind.

Wanna 'fix' it? Let's having fun a 'lil bit :D

Adding New FIle Extension to An Existing Syntax Highlighting in Geany

Adding New FIle Extension to An Existing Syntax Highlighting in Geany? That was my question before. I used to use Notepad++ while on Windows as my fav Text Editor. But, in Ubuntu, I am using Geany. It's been long time but, I still couldn't add new file extension to using existing syntax highlighter in Geany. I thought : this is suck enough to get my script highlighted by (manually) clicking Document > Set Filetype > Scripting Language > PHP Source File. Eeeevery time I open 'undefined' extensions >.<

While in Notepad++, I just have to Preferences. Not in Geany. I have gone to Preferencces menu and swept the menu. But nothing. Googling is just confusing. Might be because Geany users are not 'active'. The help menu is just the same confusing -___-"

OK then. I got the way anyway :D Here it is :

Install and setting up local webserver

Here is how to install and setting up webserver in Ubuntu (or its derivatives ie. Mint, Sabily, Blankon and so on):

Pidgin won't connect using wvdial

I just wonder why my Pidgin wouldn't connect (and make me online) IF I used wvdial method. I was forced to use web-messenger such as Imo, which support multiple account. I just dislike ebuddy. The interface is annoying.
So I browse the internet and tadaa there are many people like me. But here is the solution :